Sky In The Deep by Adrienne Young

“That’s when I saw it–his face. And I was frozen. I was the ice on the river. The snow clinging onto the mountains.

“Iri.” It was the ghost of a word on my breathe.”

WOW.

This book was truly a masterpiece. Adrienne’s world of Vikings was BREATHTAKING. Every word, every character was so well developed and held so much emotion.

Eelyn was a strong warrior and I found myself changing along with her story. I felt her turmoil, pain, and confusion. Eelyn has only ever known that her people and the Riki do not get along. That her God and their God have been fighting a constant battle ever since the beginning.

She wields a deadly axe along with a blade and has killed countless Riki warriors, but her life changes forever when she watches her brother fall of the edge of a cliff along with a Riki warrior.

At least, she thinks that’s when it changes forever, but five years later she see’s him again.

This book is all about family, and love. Two of my fav things! I LOVED how deeply Eelyn cared for her family, and how she learned to see that just because someone isn’t your blood, doesn’t make them any less your family.

Now, we meet some gosh dang good characters in this book. Halvard is one of them, along with Rune, and most importantly, Fiske.

Fiske, Fiske, Fiske.

“It means fish.”

I fell in love with him. I mean, how could you not with his long dark hair and stunning blue eyes?

And the fact that he totally hates Eelyn to begin with. You gotta love the hate/love trope!

No, but really his character was possibly my favorite. He felt the same deep, abiding love for his family and I think in the end that’s what draws Eelyn to him. The love they both share for Iri.

Who, to be honest wasn’t my fav character, but whatever! I still loved this story.

I enjoyed how Adrienne wrote her story about two very different groups of people who come from two completely different Gods. These Gods are what rule their hearts and I LOVED how Adrienne worked the sort of religion these Gods held.

All the scenery was breathtakingly written as well! From the raging seashore, to the snow cap mountains.

There is one scene that absolutely took my breath away and I’m just hoping and praying someone creates fan art of it, but I NEED IT IN MY LIFE.

If you have read this book, you better know what scene I’m talking about! (I’ll give ya a hint, it has to do with stars!)

I will say, there is a lot of battle scenes and blood, plus core and it gets pretty graphic. If that kind of stuff is a trigger for you in any way, I would probably stay away from this book.

Other than that, this book was a 5/5✨ for me! I enjoyed it so much that I read it in one day! WOOHOO! So I recommend this book completely!

Leave a comment